Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Increasing student engagement with passionate delivery of content

I have been an instructor for only 5 years at a vocational educational institution for future mechanics. We have 5 hour long classes 5 days a week. I have found that keeping students engaged during the lecture portions of a lesson is not only the most difficult part but also a critical component to successful labs later on. This is especially true in of classes with high student counts and night classes where many of the students have already worked for 8 hours plus travel time. In my limited experience I have found the greatest successes when I deliver the material with great passion, a bit of humor, and repetition of material. I try to reach different learner styles and spice up the repetitive nature of my delivery by varying presentation formats between power-point, discussion, and demonstrations. I try to give value to the material citing practical applications and relating real world experiences from my years as a mechanic.
It seems to work well although it would be nice to learn other instructional styles to add to my repertoire. I have found that attending other instructors lectures when possible most helpful even if it is another class. I have also found myself wishing I could tape my delivery, although I think it would be hard for me to watch as I tend to be self critical.

John,

There are several good teaching strategies that may be helpful to you. Please email me at jeffreyschillinger@hotmail.com and I will send you a few things I have collected over the years that may work well for you as you seek to find ways to get even better. I encourageyou to film yourself. You'll see many positives.

Jeffrey Schillinger

Hello John,