Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Knowing your Students

I find that the more I know about my students, the better I am able to relate to them. I sometimes find out that we have similar backgrounds and this helps me relate the material to shared experiences.

I agree with this philosophy. As an instructor I always take the first class to get to know the students. I write a variety of questions on the board, and go around the class and have them stand up and answer them individually. This is part of my ice breaking scenario. First, allows the students to get comfortable with the class. Second, it allows me to learn about each student. Third, it allows the students to find familiarities with each other, and helps them to feel more comfortable by an understanding that are not the only ones in their situation.

I also use the first class to get to know the students...additionaly I help them to get to know each other. Sometimes I let the students interview and introduce each other. Additionally, I always ask them to include their name before they answer any class discussions questions(until I can remember the entire class). By the second or third class everyone seems to be able to at least address everyone else by name.

Hi Ruston,
Good strategy for getting the class off to a good start in learning the names of students. Also the introductions help the students to feel comfortable and accepted in the class.
Gary

Since I teach computer courses, I find I struggle with getting students to know one another for a couple of reasons.

First, the course content does not lend itself to a lot of student interaction; I have all I can do to teach everything I need to teach in the time I have. Secondly, there is little, if any, opportunity for group work which would allow the students to get to know one another better.

Ideas for working in a computer course would be welcomed.