Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The value of synchronous teaching

I cannot stress enough just how valuable synchronous teaching is. I have been teaching online for almost 9 years now for several institutions, and only one uses synchronous components. While they are all good schools, the one with synchronous chat/lecture time is the one that students seem to stay most connected to from an undergrad perspective. Grad students tend to stay on target regardless, but undgrad students gain more value and stay enrolled more with this functionality in place.

Morissa

Interesting. Do you record your synchronous chats? Do you require it?

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

I agree with you Morissa! Students that attend the weekly webex tend to do very well in class.

I think they fell more connected to the instructor and their classmates in a synchronous chat/lecture.

Jeanette,

Do students get participation grades for the chats? How do you account for time differences of students.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Morissa,

In theory, I can definitely see the value in synchronous teaching opportunities in the online classroom. As with your teaching experience, I have been teaching online for 11 years this is my first experience utilizing the Live Chat sessions. I have to admit I am disappointed with the number of students attending the session and am wondering how you encourage students to join in?

Jean Morrison

Jean,

I understand your frustration. Nontraditional students will attend but traditional students usually won't. I find that if I want students to show up I have to make it "valuable". I may have information needed for extra points. I may require it as participation points, or some other value. This will move them.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Hello, Morissa.