Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have learned that it is very important to keep in mind that the level of expertise of maneuvering through the class online may vary from student to student and that the instructor will have to assist them if they run into technical difficulties, as this may become frustrating to the student.

As a new on-line instructor, I found the information about operating all of the learning platform functions important. I do need to spend the time to become proficient on this. If the students are using it I need to be able to help them for routine matters,

It never occurred to me that some students may not be 100% familiar and comfortable with the CMS, so I have never thought to orient them to it. Likewise, I didn't realize all the things that I needed to know, such as how to print out reports. 

As a online instrutor i is very important to know and understand  your CMS as well as Nature of the course.

I have been teaching for almost 11 years now. So much has changed. One thing I am greatful for is the ability to adapt and learn how to change with the times. The online environment has come a long way in the years that I've been teaching. I am so happy there are tools to enhance the way we deliver materials to students. It's great that we have the online platform to deliever live lectures, so the students learning will continue with limited disruptions. It's also important to know who and where you can get online support at a moments notice. 

The role of the online instructor is critical to the total success of the program, course, instructor, and the students.  Many roles may have to be modeled in order to meet the needs of the diverse student demographics and how each student learns and participates or takes responsibility for one's learning.  I must be flexible and adaptive as well as considerate in assisting the various students in meeting their goals.