Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

being professional

I think that being professional with students is very important. There are just certain lines that should not be crossed. You must give and demand a certain level of respect in order to keep the teacher student relationship professional.

Hi Rachell,
I strongly agree with your point of view and since I am a new instructor I would like to know some of those lines that you think we should not cross, in order to improve my professionalism. Do you mind to share them? Thanks.
Yuraima

;-) Professionalism should apply to students as well as instructors.

I agree, an instructor should not be pal with their students. They should demand respect from their students and also treat the students with professionalism and respect.

Hi Raana,
Respect and rapport are two essential components of being a successful instructor. The students need to respect you and you them, plus you have some level of rapport with each one. Being a pal will prevent both respect and rapport being established.
Gary

In our new instructor training course we use this maxim in describing instructor/student relations :"You are on their side, but not on their level." I think that instructors should model the best of both of the professions they represent- as educator and a a member of the field they train their students for.

Think about the conversation before you have it. Ask yourself is the conversation relavent to the the students success?

Hi Travis,
I really like the saying. It puts the relationship in clear terms that should not be misunderstood by anyone.
We need to remember that we are always "on stage" even when we are walking down the hall. Always a professional and you will be serving your profession well.
Gary

What you wear says a lot about who you are. Your style comes into play. When you dress the part people will find you more creditable.

Hi Myron,
Truly the part of being a model for your students.
Gary