Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Marilyn,
Good way to approach your instructional planning. By knowing more about your students you are able to more accurately customize your delivery to meet their learning needs.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I teach math, and it can be challenging to motivate students. I always find many "real life" examples for the students to relate the information to. Otherwise, I know that they would not be very motivated to learn and retain the information.

Kelly,
By making it "real" to the students you are increasing the ROI for them even if they don't get it at first. The real life examples support the content and the students increase their learning. This is a win win for everyone.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

One of the ways that I am a motivating instructor is I am always moving and keeping my students moving. I make my lessons relevant to real life and real work place environments. I tell my students some of the struggles that I have had in this field and we discuss how I could have handled things differently either in a good way or a bad way. I motivate by smiling and making my students feel welcome. I believe that each one of us may be the only light that some of our students ever see and we may never know which student that will be. We must shine for all of them.

Constant motivating phrases, and real life examples of others who found success after repeated failures, might help.

It will be very difficult to motivate all your students all the time, but you can always give them more incentives then "punishments" and that itself will probably be a motivation to do better.

Lisa,
You are projecting to your students that you value them and appreciate them being in the class and this is so important. By sending the message of energy and involvement you are setting the tone for the class. This is what teaching is all about.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Keli,