Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Everyone is nervous when they start something new. They aren't exactly sure what they are to do, what is the best approach and they wonder how they will know they are doing it right.

Being organized help with teaching and classroom management.

By setting realistic, clear and specific standards for students, and being fair, consistent, and dedicated to sharing your expertise and knowledge of the field you will gain respect from the students. By being prepared, organized and dedicated you can help prevent making mistakes.

Confidence!  Don't let the what if's get into your head, you know the plan, you know why you are teaching, you know what you came to do. Just do it!  It's not about you :) 

I like the recommendation to use humor and laugh at ourselves when we make mistakes as instructors. As a nursing instructor, I can have students who have zero medical experience all the way up to LPNs who may have different expertise or more years in the field than me. I learn something from my students every semester, including pronunciation of terminology that I have apparently been saying wrong my whole career! I also really like the statement The only way you can do the right thing well is to do it poorly first. We have labs and clinicals and it is some students very first time in a hospital. It is so important that students feel that it is ok not be perfect and that this is the time for making mistakes and practicing. Lastly, I like the idea of taking notes on how the lecture went and essentially what to do better next time. For sure, this is something that if noted in real time will be more beneficial than trying to think back!

Overplanning and overpreparing are far better than the opposite. Mistakes will happen, but being prepared will help you navigate and overcome these obstacles.